Questions? Feedback? powered by Olark live chat software

Cost Measures


In 2019, the CMS has included 10 measures for cost category performance:

  • Medicare Spending per Beneficiary (MSPB)
  • Total per Capita Cost measure for all attributed beneficiaries (TPCC)
  • Elective Outpatient Percutaneous Coronary Intervention (PCI)
  • Intracranial Hemorrhage or Cerebral Infarction
  • Knee Arthroplasty
  • Revascularization for Lower Extremity Chronic Critical Limb Ischemia
  • Routine Cataract Removal with Intraocular Lens (IOL) Implantation
  • Screening/Surveillance Colonoscopy
  • Simple Pneumonia with Hospitalization
  • ST-Elevation Myocardial Infarction (STEMI) with Percutaneous Coronary Intervention (PCI)

CMS will calculate Cost category score based on MIPS eligible clinicians’ performance compared to the measure benchmark. Individual MIPS eligible clinicians and groups don’t have to submit any other information for the Cost performance category.